Posted by: lcowie | November 16, 2010

Math and BPI Energy Auditing

Before I enrolled in my BPI Building Analyst training course, I was a little apprehensive about the math that I’d be expected to do. I was never very good at math, and I wasn’t quite sure what to expect with the course. It turns out that the math was very basic. It was a nice review from high school – but not the algebra or calculus-type math. It was basic geometry, which, taking into account the contents of the training course, makes sense because the shapes that you are working with may easily be equivalent to the shapes that make up a home.

The Pythagorean Theorem was always my favorite equation. It involves a few steps to get to the answer, but each step makes sense to me, so that’s why I’ve always liked completing those problems! We revisited the Pythagorean Theorem in my BPI training class. I could figure out why I’d need to use area, volume, and perimeter while conducting an energy audit, but I wasn’t quite sure how the Pythagorean Theorem was going to fall into place.

Wouldn’t you know that a question pertaining to the Pythagorean Theorem showed up on my BPI Building Analyst written exam? I now see exactly how the equation can be used. I’m so glad I got to see the Pythagorean Theorem on my exam, because I know I got that question right!

The math on the exam was, for the most part, very easy. I couldn’t believe how easy the math was. It was basic! I felt like they were trying to throw me a bone, which was good. All in all, there were few math questions on the exam. When my BPI training instructor told me that there’d only be 5-10 math questions on the exam, I was shocked. We went over the math in quite depth during the class; I couldn’t imagine that it would fulfill such a small spot of the exam. Sure enough, though, there were maybe 7 math questions. That was such a relief. The questions concerning the Building Airflow Standard and Heating Degree Days got a bit complicated, but thank God there weren’t many questions pertaining to them on the test. Most of the test was conceptual, which was good for me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

